Tags

, , , , , , ,

Nikki Giovanni - The Funeral of Martin Luther King Jr.

His headstone said “Free at last, Free at last”
But death is a slave’s freedom
We seek the freedom of free men
And the construction of a world
Where Martin Luther King could have lived
and preached non-violence.

Luper Fiasco – All Black Everything

First 400 years, see we actually enjoyed it
Constitution written by W.E.B. Du Bois
Were no reconstructions, civil war got avoided
Little black sambo grows up to be a lawyer
Extra extra on the news stands
Black woman voted head of Ku Klux Klan
Malcolm Little dies as an old man
Martin Luther King read the eulogy for him
Followed by Bill O’Reilly who read from the Quran
President Bush sends condolences from Iran

Sonia Sanchez – A Letter to Dr. Martin Luther King
As we go with you to the sun,
as we walk in the dawn, turn our eyes
Eastward and let the prophecy come true
and let the prophecy come true.
Great God, Martin, what a morning, it will be!

Moi – A Dream is a Wish YOur Heart Made

I am wishing on:
raindrops, cumulus clouds, passing cars, stolen items – lost and found, on dollars, on billboards, on missed calls and ignored text messages, on unfortunate hair weaves and uncomfortable shoes.
on fingers pressed against the wrong side of bullet proof glass.

I am wishing you back.

But only stars grant wishes
And wishes are dreams
And dead men don’t dream, can’t dream
And crying stars don’t grant wishes.

And that is life. Although…
It looks a lot like death.

Brother Martin – I’ve Been to the Mountaintop,  April 3, 1968
“Now, it doesn’t matter, now. It really doesn’t matter what happens now. I left Atlanta this morning, and as we got started on the plane, there were six of us. The pilot said over the public address system, “We are sorry for the delay, but we have Dr. Martin Luther King on the plane. And to be sure that all of the bags were checked, and to be sure that nothing would be wrong with on the plane, we had to check out everything carefully. And we’ve had the plane protected and guarded all night.” And then I got into Memphis. And some began to say the threats, or talk about the threats that were out. What would happen to me from some of our sick white brothers? Well, I don’t know what will happen now. We’ve got some difficult days ahead. But it really doesn’t matter with me now, because I’ve been to the mountaintop. And I don’t mind. Like anybody, I would like to live a long life. Longevity has its place. But I’m not concerned about that now. I just want to do God’s will. And He’s allowed me to go up to the mountain. And I’ve looked over. And I’ve seen the Promised Land. I may not get there with you. But I want you to know tonight, that we, as a people, will get to the promised land! And so I’m happy, tonight. I’m not worried about anything. I’m not fearing any man! Mine eyes have seen the glory of the coming of the Lord!!”